The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik

#ad
Viking Books for Young Readers #ad - A stunning surrealist portrait, the strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik is a story about all the ways we hurt our friends without knowing it, and all the ways they stick around to save us. Subtle behaviors, bits of history, plans for the future—everything in Noah’s world has been rewritten. Everything except his Strange Fascinations.

As he did in his fantastic debut Mosquitoland, David Arnold again shows a knack for getting into the mind of an eccentric teenager in clever, poignant fashion. Usa today   this is noah oakman → sixteen, Bowie believer, concise historian, brother, disillusioned swimmer, son, friend. Then noah → gets hypnotized.

The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik #ad - Now noah → sees changes: his mother has a scar on her face that wasn’t there before; his old dog, a lifelong DC Comics disciple, is suddenly lithe; his best friend, who once walked with a limp, now rotates in the Marvel universe.

#ad



Kids of Appetite

#ad
Viking Books for Young Readers #ad - Sunsets & orchards & ice cream & graveyards.13. 7. Falling in love. 6. 10 The hackensack Police Department would very much like to hear it. 4. 12. Falling in love with a painting. It ends with the murder of Mad’s uncle. 3. A narrow escape from a war-torn country. How to listen to someone who does not talk. It begins with the death of Vic’s father.

Kids of Appetite #ad - The momentous nature of the Palisades in winter. A coded mission to scatter ashes across New Jersey. A story collector. 2. But in order to tell their story, Vic and Mad must focus on all the chapters in between. 9. 8. 11. One dormant submarine. Falling in love with a song. Two songs about flowers. Simultaneous extreme opposites.

#ad



The Love Letters of Abelard and Lily

#ad
HMH Books for Young Readers #ad - But is it enough to bridge their differences in person?This hilarious, heartbreaking story of human connection between two neurodivergent teens is perfect for fans of Eleanor and Park and creates characters that will stay with you long after you finish reading. Hard. When lily michaels-ryan ditches her adhd meds and lands in detention with Abelard, she’s intrigued—he seems thirty seconds behind, while she feels thirty seconds ahead.

It doesn't hurt that he’s brilliant and beautiful. When abelard posts a quote from The Letters of Abelard and Heloise online, their mutual affinity for ancient love letters connects them. The two fall for each other.

#ad



Mosquitoland

#ad
Viking Books for Young Readers #ad - But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, loyalty, redefining her notions of love, and what it means to be sane. Told in an unforgettable, Mosquitoland is a modern American odyssey, kaleidoscopic voice, as hilarious as it is heartbreaking.

Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland. So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. Top-notch” —usa today “illuminating” —washington post “a breath of fresh air” —entertainment weekly “memorable” —People By the New York Times bestselling author of Kids of Appetite! After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom.

#ad



Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done

#ad
HarperCollins #ad - Their video game and their commitment to inspiring young women have been covered by the Huffington Post, Buzzfeed, the Today show, Jezebel, Teen Vogue, CNN,  and many more. Get ready for an inside look at the tech industry, the true power of coding, and some of the amazing women who are shaping the world.

The book also includes bonus content to help you start coding!fans of funny and inspiring books like Maya Van Wagenen’s Popular and Caroline Paul’s Gutsy Girl will love hearing about Andrea “Andy” Gonzales and Sophie Houser’s journey from average teens to powerhouses. Through the success of their video game,  Andy and Sophie got unprecedented access to some of the biggest start-ups and tech companies, and now they’re sharing what they’ve seen.

Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done #ad - A new york public library best book of 2017perfect for aspiring coders everywhere, teamed up to create a viral video game,  Girl Code is the story of two teenage tech phenoms who met at Girls Who Code summer camp, and ended up becoming world famous. Andy and sophie reveal not only what they’ve learned about opportunities in science and technology but also the true value of discovering your own voice and creativity.

A junior library guild selectiona children's Book Council Best STEM Trade Book for Students K-12.

#ad



Audacity

#ad
Philomel Books #ad - In time, clara convinces the women in the factories to strike, and unionize, culminating in the famous Uprising of the 20, organize, 000. Powerful, breathtaking, and inspiring,  Audacity is the story of a remarkable young woman, whose passion and selfless devotion to her cause changed the world. Praise for audacity:a 2015 national jewish book award finalista washington post best children’s books for april: poetry editionan ila notable book for a global SocietyA 2016 NCTE Children's Notable Verse NovelA New York Public Library Best Book for TeensAn ALA Top 10 Best Fiction for Young Adults PickAn ALSC Notable Children's Book nomineeA BCCB Blue Ribbon winner * "Crowder breathes life into a world long past.

Audacity #ad - . Compelling,  powerful and unforgettable. Kirkus reviews, starred review * "This book stands alone. An impactful addition to any historical fiction collection. School library journal, glossary of terms, this will make an excellent complement to units on women’s rights and the labor movement, and bibliography, starred review* "With a thorough historical note, but it will also satisfy readers in search of a well-told tale of a fierce heroine.

Bccb, starred review* "This is an excellent title that can open discussions in U.

#ad



Mary's Monster: Love, Madness, and How Mary Shelley Created Frankenstein

#ad
Roaring Brook Press #ad - Both timely and terrifying. Gregory macguire, new york times–bestselling author of wickedpairing free verse with over three hundred pages of black-and-white watercolor illustrations, Mary’s Monster is a unique and stunning biography of Mary Shelley, the pregnant teenage runaway who became one of the greatest authors of all time.

Legend is correct that Mary Shelley began penning Frankenstein in answer to a dare to write a ghost story. By age nineteen, was living in scandal with a married man, she had been disowned by her family, and had lost her baby daughter just days after her birth. Mary poured her grief, and passion into the powerful book still revered two hundred years later, pain, and in Mary's Monster, author/illustrator Lita Judge has poured her own passion into a gorgeous book that pays tribute to the life of this incredible author.

Mary's Monster: Love, Madness, and How Mary Shelley Created Frankenstein #ad - A 2019 ncss-cbc notable social studies trade bookA 2019 Amelia Bloomer Project BookThis title has Common Core connections. What most people don't know, however, is that the seeds of her novel had been planted long before that night.

#ad



The House of One Thousand Eyes

#ad
Annick Press #ad - Gone also are all his belongings, his books, and even his birth records. This searing novel about defiance, and determination takes readers into the chilling world of a society ruled by autocratic despots, courage, where nothing is what it seems.  . Visits with her beloved Uncle Erich, a best-selling author, are her only respite.

But one night, her uncle disappears without a trace. There are government spies everywhere. Who can lena trust to help her find out the truth?Life in East Germany in the early 1980s is not easy for most people, but for Lena, it’s particularly hard. After the death of her parents in a factory explosion and time spent in a psychiatric hospital recovering from the trauma, she is sent to live with her stern aunt, a devoted member of the ruling Communist Party.

The House of One Thousand Eyes #ad - But lena is unafraid and refuses to give up her search, regardless of the consequences. Lena is desperate to know what happened to him, but it’s as if he never existed. The worst thing, is that she cannot discuss her uncle or her attempts to find him with anyone, however, not even her best friends.

#ad



This Mortal Coil

#ad
Simon Pulse #ad - That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. She can cripple mainframes and crash through firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. I was shocked. Npr “stunning twists and turns. Bccb starred review in this gripping debut novel, seventeen-year-old Cat must use her gene-hacking skills to decode her late father’s message concealing a vaccine to a horrifying plague.

Catarina Agatta is a hacker. But during the outbreak, lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own. In cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want.

This Mortal Coil #ad - When a cartaxus soldier, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cole, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. Now cat must decide who she can trust: the soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?

Redefines ‘unputdownable. Amie kaufman, new york Times bestselling author of Iluminae “I was thrilled. Lachlan agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race.

And cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius.

#ad



American Road Trip

#ad
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) #ad - A heartwrenching ya coming of age story about three siblings on a roadtrip in search of healing. With a strong family, the best friend a guy could ask for, and a budding romance with the girl of his dreams, life shows promise for Teodoro “T” Avila. In a desperate effort to save manny from himself and pull their family back together, T’s fiery sister, Xochitl, hoodwinks her brothers into a cathartic road trip.

Told through t’s honest voice, socioeconomic pressures, this is a candid exploration of mental illness, and the many inescapable highs and lows that come with growing up—including falling in love. But he takes some hard hits the summer before senior year when his nearly perfect brother, Manny, returns from a tour in Iraq with a devastating case of PTSD.

American Road Trip #ad - Christy Ottaviano Books.

#ad